Overview
If your business or school uses separate platforms but wants to share resources and courses across them, the Networks feature provides an easy way to connect and collaborate.
Networks allow you to connect multiple sites so users can share resources, collaborate, and teach or enroll in courses across participating sites.
Installing the Network sites app
To enable the network feature, you must first install the Network sites app. To install the app, administrators:
- Hover over Admin on the primary navigation menu.
- Click App center from the fly-out menu.
- Install the Network sites app from the Portal configuration section of the App center.
Creating a network
To connect multiple sites, you must first create a Network. To create a new Network:
- Hover over Admin on the primary navigation menu.
- Click Network from the fly-out menu.
- Click the Add tab.
- Enter a Name and Description for the network.
- Enter a Password for the network. Sites must use this password in order to join the network.
- Click Save.
The new network now displays on the Sites tab. Note that when you create a network, you are automatically the default network administrator.
To edit network information, such as the network name, description, or password:
- Click the Overview tab.
- Click the Edit button.
- Update network information and click Save.
Joining a network
To join a site to an existing network:
- Log in to the site as an administrator.
- Hover over Admin on the primary navigation menu.
- Click Network from the fly-out menu.
- Click the Join tab.
- Enter the name of the network in the Network field.
- Click Search.
Networks that match the search are listed. To join a network:
- Click the Join button below the network.
You are then prompted for the network's password.
- Enter the Password.
- Click Join.
If the password was correct, a new Sites tab appears. Sites that are a part of the network display on the Sites tab.
Note that many sites can join a network. However, a site can only be a part of one network.
If you would like to leave the network:
- Click the Leave button.
Visiting a site within the network
To see a list of the sites in your network:
- Hover over Admin on the primary navigation menu.
- Click Network from the fly-out menu.
- Click the Sites tab.
If you're a network administrator, you can visit any of the sites in the network. To visit a site:
- Click the Log in
icon for the site.
When you log-in to another site, the branding of the new site displays, and the information on each tab reflects the information for the site. To return to your own site:
- Click Home on the primary navigation menu.
Merging sites
As a network administrator, you can can merge two or more sites in a network into a single site. Merging one site to another moves its users, courses, groups, paths, organizations, and resources to the new site. To merge sites:
- Click Merge.
The Merge businesses page displays.
- In the From drop-down, select the business from which you want to move users, courses, groups, paths, organizations, and resources from.
- In the To drop-down, select the business you want to move the users, courses, groups, path, organizations, and resources to.
- Click Continue.
A report will be generated that outlines the actions of the merge. If you approve the merge, the site items will be merged to the site selected in the To drop-down menu.
Administrators
Network administrators have access to all of the sites on the network. To see a list of Network administrators:
- Hover over Users on the primary navigation menu.
- Click Network admins on the fly-out menu.
Only a network administrator can add or remove network administrators. To add a network administrator:
- Click the Add
icon.
- Select users from a list of administrators.
- Click Add.

To remove a network administrators:
- Select the checkbox next to the administrator you want to remove.
- Click Remove.
Note that a network must always have at least one network administrator.
Policies
As a network administrator, there are several policies you can enable or disable for your network. To access network policies:
- Hover over Admin on the primary navigation menu.
- Click Policies from the fly-out menu.
- Click the Network tab.
You can choose to enable any of the following network policies:
- Instructors can teach any course in their network: If enabled, a teacher from any site in the network can be added as a teacher to any course in the network.
- Learners can enroll in any course in their network: If enabled, a learner from any site in the network can be enrolled in any course in the network.
- Learners can message any learner in their network: If enabled, a learner can choose to send a message to any learner in any site in the network.
- Learners can join any group in their district: If enabled, learners can join any group in their school district.